Selfish, yes please!

When was the last time you did something solely for yourself? Can’t seem to remember. Stop reading, go do something this instant for yourself. Something that brings YOU joy. Something that isn’t dependant upon a million other factors. Will the children fit in? Will the husband like it? Will friends be fine? Will parents approve? You know what, doesn’t matter. Does it make you happy, if the answer is yes, do it. 

On a crazy weekday evening I booked myself a massage appointment and called my husband at work and told him about it. “You booked yourself an appointment for today?” he asked.”Yes, in about an hour and a half from now I said.” Those who know my husband know how adorable he is. He came home just as my masseuse walked in. He took over the babies from me and patted me away into the room. 

  
For the next two hours I heard nothing, not a cry, not a whimper, not a thud, not a sigh. It was sheer bliss. The boys were absolutely fine when I came out of the room post the massage. They were playing in the toy room. The husband was reading to the them. All was good in our household and I was feeling so much better after that time to myself.

So go ahead and take time out for yourself. Beat the guilt. You will end up loving yourself so much more after the time you get with yourself. 

2 thoughts on “Selfish, yes please!

Leave a Reply

