Be kind! 

One statement is all it took to rattle me and make me supremely uncomfortable. At a dinner we recently attended with kids in tow, another mom whom I was meeting for the first time said to me, ‘is he also 4.5 years of age?’ She asked this pointing to my son who was playing with a group of 4 other similar age group kids. ‘Yes, he is,’ I said looking at my son and smiling. 

She then goes to say rather loudly, ‘oh I thought he was older. He looks so much ‘bigger’ than the other kids.’ The word bigger stuck to me. Why say anything at all if you can’t be tactful in what you say? The rest of the evening, for me, was a blur. What killed me further was when my child came up to me and apologetically said, ‘Amma I will pull my stomach in like this, see.’ 


To all those amazing people whom I come in contact with – don’t do and say things that will scar my child or me. Another time a well meaning friend while picking my child up feigned a back pain and said, ‘ah looks like you’ve gotten big.’ He went on to make some sounds that clearly indicated how hard it was on him to carry my child. 

Did I ask you to carry him?? Why take it upon yourself and then trouble us this way? 

It is also so important that we as patents watch what we say in front of kids. Kids don’t learn to call each other ‘motu’, ‘ladoo’, ‘golu’ etc. if they haven’t heard it being said at home. 

So please, if you can’t be kind just stay away. It’s so much better that way. 

Leave a Reply

